Life Magazine: August 6, 1951

Life MagazineIt’s August 6, 1951, as the title up there says, and I’m busy being born. Meanwhile, as always, on the newsstands is this week’s copy of Life magazine.

The girl on the cover – Carol Braun – is having fun, fun, fun in the summertime. She’s just been named the Portland Rose Festival Princess, and she’s getting her picture taken (in a tight sweater) to appear on the cover of Life magazine, just like Betty Grable. Life is sweet. (Pun intended.)

So what, you ask?

Well, I grow up, and in 1972 I marry Carol Rudy (a lovely sweater girl herself) whose name then changes to… Carol Brown.

Just one of those strange little coincidences that make life so darned interesting. (Pun intended.)

I ordered a copy of this issue of Life from eBay a few days ago, and just got it in the mail today. I just had to. My life wouldn’t be complete without it. (Pun… well, you know.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings

2 Comments on “Life Magazine: August 6, 1951”

  1. Lori Regan Says:

    Well, my best friend Jenny (whom I’ve known since kindergarten way back in 1968) just emailed me the link to this page today, 1/24/08. Why? Because the “pert and freckle-faced young lady” on the cover of Life Magazine’s August 6, 1951 issue was my dear mom, Carol Braun! I really loved your story … Amazing how life works. I imagine you must know that Braun is the German equivalent of Brown … and is (in Germany) pronounced brown. I have many issues of Mom’s magazine myself … I bought every one I could find at Cameron’s Books in Portland in the 80s and 90s. I thought you should know that my mom was a fantastic person, a beauty in every way. Kind and loving and smart. You and she both had a pretty life-changing week, the week of August 6, 1951. Thank you for sharing your story.

    • Anonymous Says:

      I just recently became aware of your mother and the stunningly beautiful woman she was. I would very much like to educate myself on her life and would appreciate any sources of information about her that I can find. Suggestions will be most appreciated.


Leave a Reply

